How Well do you Know the Laws of Association Croquet?

The following questions are a sample taken from the CA website where you will find a Fun Quiz in the Laws of Association Croquet section. Sadly there does not appear to be a similar quiz yet on the Golf Croquet Laws. Click here for the answers.


1. Ray is playing with Red which is for the peg. He rushes Yellow across the lawn and Red bounces off Yellow and strikes the peg. Is Red pegged out?


2. Ray plays a croquet stroke with Red on Yellow and Yellow comes to rest between the yard-line area. Is Yellow now a ball in hand?


3. Red, Yellow and Blue are in a line on the yard-line with Yellow in contact with both Red and Blue. At the start of his turn Ray elects to play with Red and takes croquet from Blue, which is not in direct contact with it. Is this permitted?  


4. Ray shoots with Red at Blue which is on a corner spot and misses going off the lawn in the corner. Ray places Red correctly on the yard-line in contact with Blue. Without leaving the lawn, he notices that he has left a double for Black. He then picks up Red and places it on the other yard-line in contact with Blue leaving a single ball target for Black. Bab objects and says Red must be put back to his first choice leaving the double. Who is right?  


5. Ray playing with Red roquets Blue which is a yard-line ball. Blue then hits Black off of the lawn while remaining within the yard-line area. Ray then correctly places Blue on the yard-line and then places Red in contact with Blue for his croquet stroke. He then places Black on the yard-line in contact with Blue as Red now prevents Black being put in its correct position. Have the balls been placed on the lawn in the correct order?  


6.  Ray is finishing his turn with just one continuation shot remaining. Before playing this shot he notices that Blue may be wired. He finds it difficult to decide by eye and therefore uses some spare balls to test whether Blue has a lift. Is this correct?  


7. Ray attempts to peg out Blue with Red with a firm croquet stroke. Both balls are rover balls. Blue glances of the peg and knocks Yellow through its hoop in order. Does Yellow score the point?  


8. On an undulating lawn, Ray places Red in contact with Yellow such that Yellow is slightly resting on Red. He then aims his croquet stroke so that Red is hit slightly away from Yellow. None-the-less, Yellow shakes as the stroke is played. Has the stroke been played correctly?      


9. The striker may play a game using more than one mallet. Is this true?  


10. Ray has Red in corner 1 and Yellow in corner 3 in an advanced game. Bab has laid up with a simple rush to 1-back with Blue, which is for that hoop. As Blue would concede a lift when it runs 1-back, Ray states that he is not going to play a stroke as he wishes to leave the balls where they are. Is this permitted?