Answers to Laws Quiz 1


1. No Law 15(b)(1) states that if the striker's ball makes a roquet, it cannot thereafter score a peg point for itself in the same stroke.


2. Yes Law 11(a) states that at the end of each stroke any ball, other than the striker's ball, becomes a ball in hand.  


3. Yes Law 16(d) states that if a roquet may be deemed to have been made on a ball that forms part of a group of balls, a roquet may be deemed to have been made on any live ball in the group.  


4. Ray. Law 6(c)(4) states that if the striker has a choice of placement positions, he remains entitled to relocate it at any time until the earlier of the start of his next stroke or the end of his turn.


5. No. Law 12(c) states that if the striker's ball is entitled to take croquet, the striker's ball must not interfere with the replacement of balls. Law 12(d) states if two balls have to be replaced, the order of replacement is as the striker chooses.    


6. No. Law 13(e) states that only a referee may conduct a wiring test and only before the first stroke of a current turn. Otherwise the striker must rely on an unaided ocular test.


7. Yes Law 15(c) states that a ball remains in play throughout the stroke in which it is pegged out and may cause other balls to move and score hoop or peg points.  


8. No. Law 20(b) states that the striker plays a croquet stroke with the balls in contact and in so doing must play into the croqueted ball and move or shake it.      


9. Yes. Law 3(e)(6) states that a mallet may not be exchanged for another during a turn unless it suffers accidental damage that significantly affects its use. There is nothing in the Laws forbidding the use of different mallets at the start of separate turns.


10. Yes. Law 5(a) states that a stroke can be a declaration that the ball will be left where it lies. Note that a player becomes responsible for the position of any ball that belongs to him by declaring that he was leaving a ball where it lay without specifying which (Law 13(b)(1)(E).